Treat Yourself Happy

UnknownTreating yourself every once in a while is not a bad thing. In fact, I think that it is one of the most important parts of having a healthy lifestyle. If you don’t treat yourself you will either end up 1) miserable or 2) binge eating on a bunch of crap food because you lose control of your willpower. A healthy diet is all about BALANCE! That means that yes you do need to eat healthy the majority of the time (you should want to do this anyway) but, that also means that you have a little room to treat yourself.

Now, that doesn’t mean that once a week you should go gorge on 2 gallons of ice cream and a bunch of pizza. That will just set you back and make you feel terrible about yourself. A treat is a little bit of something that maybe you wouldn’t have everyday. Below are some examples:

-1 piece of pizza
-A little dessert: a scoop of ice cream, a piece of cake, etc.
-A splurge meal of your choice (just make sure the portion isn’t out of control)
We may plan on saving our treats for the weekends or an event, but sometimes our cravings get in the way. I do not think that it is bad to allow yourself a small treat a day to keep yourself going, ESPECIALLY if you have a terrible craving. For example, I let myself have 1 square of dark chocolate if I really feel like I need something sweet. That way, I felt like I treated myself and then I don’t have to think about my cravings anymore.

Unknown-1

If you find yourself needing a small treat, HAVE ONE. Its better to do something small and put it out of your mind than dwell on it and end up overeating.

Stay Healthy!

Leave a Reply

