What About Me?

What about me? Do you ever ask yourself that question? Usually, when we hear someone say this we automatically think that they are acting selfish. Like, who has time to think about themselves? Aren’t we supposed to think about others all the time? If these thoughts ever run through your head, I know exactly how you feel. Oftentimes I find myself asking what I am getting out of something, when I will have time to do what I want, etc. And, when this happens, I find myself feeling guilty about it. I shouldn’t be thinking of myself, who has time for that!!

But here is the catch: when you don’t think about yourself sometimes, your world comes crashing down. Everyone knows the feeling. You are busy with school, work, friends, and you never leave anytime to think about yourself. Then, all of a sudden you feel the overwhelming urge to have a meltdown. Not just a meltdown, but the stomp your feet I am overwhelmed and over tired kind of meltdown. This isn’t because you are secretly still 5 years old trapped in a teenage body. Although.. who knows!! It’s because when we don’t take time for ourselves, we aren’t allowing for the time to relax and reboot. I don’t mean totally konk out in front of the T.V. time, I mean really do something for you.

The next time you are feeling overwhelmed, put down your phone (impossible I know) and find something to do for yourself. Here are some ideas:

  • Take a bath
  • Go for a walk
  • Read a great book
  • Play with your pet
  • Journal
  • Research something you find interesting

No matter what you do, make sure that it is something you find enjoyable and relaxing. You don’t have to spend hours, just 10 minutes a day, for you.

Leave a Reply

