The Treat/Cheat Dilemma

 

 

photo credit:

photo credit: http://patentlawcenter.pli.edu/2010/10/04/what-is-prior-art/man-question-mark/

 

I’m not going to lie, one of the hardest parts about eating healthy is saying no to some of those foods that are SO GOOD! I am a sucker for carbs-pizza, pancakes, the works. So when I am offered them and have to say no, it’s very difficult. Actually, I don’t have to say no, I choose to say no because I know that I don’t feel as good after I have eaten them. Anyway, all I am saying is I know your pain.

But, we also can’t go through our entire life not allowing ourselves to enjoy the foods that we love. This is where the treat/cheat dilemma comes in. Do we treat ourselves and have our favorite foods? Or are we cheating ourselves when we have them? Here is my answer, or rather, my opinion:

You can call eating your favorite not so healthy meals anything you want. Treat, cheat, it really doesn’t matter because you are eating it either way. The main thing you want to focus on is enjoying the meal when you have it, and to make sure you aren’t eating these meals to often or in to big of portions.

There are many different way’s you can incorporate these meals into your life. Here is my personal plan that works for ME:

  • 1 treat per week, small, like a piece of chocolate or a small portion of sushi/asian food
  • 1 big treat per month like pancakes, pizza, etc.
  • 3 days a year I allow myself a *cheat DAY- Thanksgiving, Christmas, and my birthday

I put a * by cheat DAY because I need to explain exactly what I mean by that. There is a huge difference between a cheat meal and a cheat day.  A cheat meal is when you allow yourself a portion of one of your favorite foods  a few times a month. A cheat day is when you allow yourself whatever you want to eat in one day. You SHOULDN’T have a cheat day every week. It is unhealthy and will eventually cause weight gain and bad habits, trust me I have been there too.

Now remember, this is all my own opinion so make sure that you are taking my advice and using what works for YOU.

Whats your guy’s favorite cheat meal?!

 

 

Leave a Reply

