The Harvard Experience

 

 

Wow, my last week was absolutely amazing! For those of you who don’t know I had the amazing opportunity to go to Harvard and speak on a panel for the PBS special that I was featured in. The entire experience was absolutely amazing, from seeing Boston to actually speaking on the panel, I learned so much and had so much fun. 

To me, Boston was one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen. The history, the architecture, the coffee houses, the seafood, everything was amazing, beautiful, and a lot different than I am used to. I don’t live in a big city, so being in a city like Boston was quite a treat! We walked around for hours, looking at buildings, trying different tea houses, riding the subways, and simply sitting on park benches and soaking it all in. The energy was amazing and I felt completely connected while I was there. 

 

 

 

Speaking of connection, that leads me to the actual Harvard University experience! First off, the campus is absolutely beautiful. I went on several walks through there and was both amazed and mystified every time. I couldn’t stop thinking about how many great minds have walked this same path, and all the creative energy and knowledge that was flowing within me and around me. I felt a buzz the whole time I was there.

The actual screening was probably one of the most amazing experiences I have had in my entire life. I got to sit up on a panel with professors, directors, and inventors and share my views on education and the education path that I am journeying on. I was very nervous at first, me being 15, I felt very out of place. But once I accepted the fact that these people were here to hear my views, I relaxed and reminded myself that all I needed to do was be authentic. And guess what? The conversation was amazing. 

There were several different views on each subject, which really allowed people to see the matter from all points of view. Because of that, the discussion consisted of lots of different opinions and truths, making it all the more interesting. We talked a lot about what it is like to find mentors, changing standards, and of course, “Is School Enough?”, the documentary that was played before the conversation. 

To end this post, I invite you to watch the taped video of the discussion. Those of you who are interested in alternative education, or changing education, will find it very interesting.

Click here to watch video.

 

Leave a Reply

